Magic Is Dead: My Journey into the World's Most Secretive


  • Format Kindle
  • Magic Is Dead: My Journey into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians
  • Ian Frisch
  • Anglais
  • 01 June 2019
  • 0062839284

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Magic Is Dead: My Journey into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians Magic Is Dead is itself a magic trick unexpected, mesmerizing, smoothly executed, andabove allfun With verve and wit, Ian Frisch infiltrates a mysterious world with a vibrant cast of characters Im looking at you, Laura London , and explores the powerful nature of secretsand why its sometimes best to keep them Karen Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of Liar, Temptress, Soldier, Spy Frischs enthusiastic deep dive into the world of magic is infectious enough that it just might send readers to the stores for their own magic sets Publishers WeeklyIn the vein of Neil Strauss The Game and Joshua Foers Moonwalking with Einstein comes the fascinating story of one mans colorful, mysterious, and personal journey into the world of magic, and his unlikely invitation into an underground secret society of revolutionary magicians from around the worldMagic Is Dead is Ian Frischs head first dive into a hidden world full of extraordinary characters and highly guarded secrets It is a story of imagination, deception, and art that spotlights todays most brilliant young magiciansa mysterious club known as the, who are revolutionizing an ancient artform under the mantra Magic Is DeadIan brings us with him as he not only gets to know this fascinating world, but also becomes an integral part of it We meet thes founding membersLaura London, Daniel Madison, and Chris Ramsayand explore their personal demons, professional aspirations, and what drew them to their craft We join them at private gatherings of the most extraordinary magicians working today, follow them to magic conventions in Las Vegas and England, and discover some of the best tricks of the trade We also encounter David Blaine hang out with Penn Jillette meet Dynamo, the UKs most famous magician and go behind the scenes of a Netflix magic show Magic Is Dead is also a chronicle of magics rich history and how it has changed in the internet age, as the young guns embrace social media and move away from the old school take on the craftAs he tells the story of the, and his role as its most unlikely member, Ian reveals his own connection with trickery and deceit and how he first learned the elements that make magic work from his poker playing mother He recalls their adventures in card rooms and casinos after his fathers sudden death, and shares a touching moment that he had, as a working journalist, with his childhood idol Shaquille ONeal Magicthe romanticism of the inexplicable, the awe and admiration of the unexpectedis an underlying force in how we view the world and its myriad possibilities, Ian writes As his journey continues, Ian not only becomes a performer and creator of magiceven fooling the late Anthony Bourdain during a chance encounterhe also cements a new brotherhood, and begins to understand his relationship with his father, fifteen years after his death Written with psychological acuity and a keen eye for detail, Magic Is Dead is an engrossing tale full of wonder and surprise


About the Author: Ian Frisch

Is a well known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the Magic Is Dead: My Journey into the World's Most Secretive Society of Magicians book, this is one of the most wanted Ian Frisch author readers around the world.